Saturday, July 26, 2008

Korean Rant

I have been here about a month and a week now, so I feel I am entitled to a little rant session.

Even though I love Korea, and the people and various other things I think that there are some serious problems with the country:

1. With the fact that English has been a requirement for every student to do for 10 years, you think that the country would be more English friendly. First, none of the restaurants have English on their menus, or if they do it is a rarity. Second, the people here cannot speak English at all. The only person whom I have met who speaks English somewhat well is my boss. I mean come on! They wonder why there is a shortage of teachers that come to teach conversation English, when the people in the country do not want to speak it or make it a little bit more English friendly, by at the very least printing menus in both Korean and English

2. I was going to go out to eat, but it was late (by Korean time) I went to a restaurant at 8:30 (actually my third one) and they were all closed! 8 ish?! On a Saturday? In America that would not last as between 8-9:30 ish is one of the busiest rushes in the week for many places. Yeah I know that this is not America but okay.

3. I think that the teachers who come should all be able to give grades. All of my elementary students would pass their classes. Now as far as middle school students go, they would all fail, every single middle school student. They don't ever pay attention, I spend 40 minutes of a 50 minute class or 20 minutes of a 25 minute class trying to get them to pay attention. All they want to do is talk and goof off!

No comments: